Cities, Towns, and Villages in Monroe County, Illinois

Here is a list of all the cities, towns, and villages in Monroe county, Illinois

Monroe County is a county located in the U.S. state of Illinois. According to the 2020 census, it had a population of 34,962. Its county seat and largest city is Waterloo

Here is a list of all the cities, towns, and villages in Monroe county, Illinois:


  1. Columbia
  2. Waterloo


  1. Fults
  2. Hecker
  3. Maeystown
  4. Valmeyer

Unincorporated Communities

  1. Ames
  2. Burksville
  3. Burksville Station
  4. Chalfin Bridge
  5. Foster Pond
  6. Fountain
  7. Harrisonville
  8. Madonnaville
  9. Merrimac
  10. Monroe City
  11. New Hanover
  12. Renault
  13. St. Joe
  14. Tipton
  15. Wartburg

Former Settlement

  1. St. Philippe

Quick Facts about Monroe county, Illinois

Here are some quick facts about Monroe county, Illinois:

  • Official Website:
  • County Seat: Waterloo
  • Founded: 1816
  • Area: Approximately 398 square miles
  • Population: Around 34,000
  • Geography: Located in southwestern Illinois.
  • Economy: Diverse economy with contributions from agriculture, industry, and commerce.
  • Notable City: Waterloo is the largest city and serves as the county seat.
  • Education: Home to local school districts.
  • Recreation: Offers parks, cultural events, and outdoor activities. The Waterloo Historic District is a notable attraction.
  • Notable Landmarks: Fort de Chartres State Historic Site, Maeystown Historic District, and local historical sites contribute to the county’s character.

How many US states have a Monroe County?

  • Monroe County may refer to seventeen counties in the United States, all named for James Monroe: Monroe County, Alabama. Monroe County, Arkansas. Monroe County, Florida.

Is Monroe County expensive?

  • Monroe County’s monthly cost of living comes to about $7,800 a month for a family of two parents and two kids. Most costly: An estimate of $2,000 a month in child-care expenses.

Why is Monroe County famous?

  • Monroe County was the home of Andrew S. Rowan of Spanish-American War fame, who is immortalized in Elbert Hubbard’s classic A Message to Garcia. One of Monroe County’s major geological features is Haynes Cave, a former saltpeter mine.