Cities, Towns and Communities in Bartholomew County, Indiana

Here is a complete list of cities, towns, and communities in Bartholomew County, Indiana


  1. Columbus (County Seat)


  1. Hope

Unincorporated Communities

  1. Clifford
  2. Elizabethtown
  3. Hartsville
  4. Jonesville
  5. Newbern
  6. Taylorsville

Quick Facts

Category Information
Location Bartholomew County is situated in the south-central part of the state of Indiana, within the Midwestern region of the United States
County Seat The county seat of Bartholomew County is Columbus
Geography The county features diverse landscapes, including rolling hills, farmland, and some wooded areas. The Flatrock and Driftwood Rivers are notable geographical features in the county
Notable Places Bartholomew County is home to several notable places, including the Cummins Corporate Office Building, The Miller House and Garden (a National Historic Landmark), and various parks and recreational areas
Economy The county’s economy is diverse, with a focus on manufacturing, healthcare, education, and agriculture. The Cummins Inc. headquarters in Columbus significantly contributes to the local economy
Education Bartholomew County is served by several public-school districts providing primary and secondary education. It’s also home to Indiana University-Purdue University Columbus (IUPUC) and Ivy Tech Community College
History Established in 1821, Bartholomew County was named after the famous Hoosier militiaman Joseph Bartholomew. It has a rich history tied to early settlers, including German and Irish immigrants
Official Website


What is Bartholomew County Indiana famous for?

  • Architecture and Design: Notably recognized for its modern architectural heritage, particularly through buildings like the Miller House and Garden, designed by famous architects including Eero Saarinen and Alexander Girard.
  • Cummins Inc.: The county is home to the global headquarters of Cummins Inc., a multinational corporation known for manufacturing engines and related technologies. Cummins has had a significant impact on the local economy and community.
  • Cultural and Arts: Bartholomew County has a vibrant arts community with various galleries, public art installations, and the Columbus Visitors Center’s architecture tours, showcasing the city’s renowned modernist architecture.
  • Educational Institutions: The county hosts higher education institutions like Indiana University-Purdue University Columbus (IUPUC) and Ivy Tech Community College, contributing to the educational landscape of the region.
  • Historical Significance: It holds historical significance due to its early settlers, including German and Irish immigrants, and its role in Indiana’s development and expansion.
  • Parks and Recreational Areas: The county boasts numerous parks, nature reserves, and recreational areas, offering outdoor activities and scenic landscapes for residents and visitors.

How big is Bartholomew County Indiana?

Bartholomew County, Indiana, spans an area of approximately 409 square miles (1,059 square kilometers).

What is the largest town in Bartholomew County Indiana?

Columbus is the largest town in Bartholomew County, Indiana.

Bartholomew County, Indiana map
Bartholomew County, Indiana map