Cities and Communities in Barton County, Kansas

List of all cities and communities in Barton County, Kansas

Barton County is located in the state of Kansas in the United States. It is situated in the central part of the state. The county seat of Barton County is Great Bend.


  1. Great Bend
  2. Hoisington
  3. Ellinwood
  4. Claflin
  5. Pawnee Rock

Communities in Barton County, Kansas

  1. Albert
  2. Beaver
  3. Galatia
  4. Heizer
  5. Odin
  6. Redwing


In Kansas, the term “village” is not commonly used as a formal designation for municipalities. Instead, communities are often classified as cities, towns, or unincorporated areas. Therefore, there are no villages in Barton County, Kansas.

Quick Facts

Category Information
Location Central Kansas, USA
County Seat Great Bend
Population Approximately 25,080
Area Approximately 901 square miles
Main Cities Great Bend, Hoisington, Ellinwood
Major Industries Agriculture, Manufacturing, Healthcare


What is the history of Barton County Kansas?

Barton County, Kansas, has a rich history that dates back to the mid-19th century. Here’s a brief overview of the history of Barton County:

  1. Early Inhabitants: Before European settlers arrived, the area that is now Barton County was inhabited by Native American tribes, including the Pawnee and Cheyenne. These indigenous peoples had a long history in the region.
  2. Settlement and Exploration: European-American settlers began to arrive in the area in the mid-1800s, primarily for agricultural purposes. The region was explored by pioneers and surveyors as part of westward expansion.
  3. Formation of Barton County: Barton County was officially established on February 26, 1867. It was named after Clara Barton, a Civil War nurse and founder of the American Red Cross.
  4. Growth and Development: The county’s growth was closely tied to agriculture, and farming and ranching became the primary economic activities. The arrival of the railroad in the late 19th century boosted the local economy and facilitated transportation of goods.
  5. Great Bend: The city of Great Bend, which serves as the county seat, played a pivotal role in the county’s development. It was named after a bend in the Arkansas River and served as a trade and transportation hub.
  6. Notable Events: Like many parts of the Midwest, Barton County experienced hardships during the Dust Bowl and the Great Depression in the 1930s. The area’s economy rebounded in the post-war years.
  7. Today: Barton County remains an agricultural center, known for its production of wheat, cattle, and other crops. The county has also diversified its economy over the years, including manufacturing and healthcare industries.

How did Barton County Kansas get its name?

Barton County in Kansas was named after Clara Barton. Clara Barton was a pioneering nurse who founded the American Red Cross. She gained recognition for her humanitarian work during the American Civil War, providing medical assistance and supplies to soldiers. After the war, she continued her advocacy for the missing and displaced, playing a crucial role in identifying and reconnecting missing soldiers with their families. Barton County was named in her honor to recognize her significant contributions to humanitarian efforts during a critical period in American history.

Barton County, Kansas map
Barton County, Kansas map

Read More: